I Love My Job (And All The Perks that Come With It)…

I may only be working my way up to the one month mark at my new job.  But I adore it.  I absolutely love it with all my heart.  So today, I am thankful that I have finally figured out what I want to do with the rest of my life.  Slight pause for happy dance…

Okay, so maybe I’m a bit too excited for just a slight pause.  Anywho.

I have had a few jobs in the past that I really enjoyed, but nothing quite compares to this.  First of all, scientists don’t like to wake up early (who does?).  And I happen to appreciate that (I’m going into work at 11 this morning.  11!)  Plus, my lab is of the incredibly practical mindset that if you’re work is done, you get to go home.  We can’t thaw the 3T3-L1 cells until Friday, so why stick around on Tuesday?  Makes perfect sense to me.  I am also learning how to actually do all the sciencey-labby things that they teach you of in school but you never actually get to do.  Hello newly-dubbed, cell-splitter-Western-blot-film-developer-qPCR-protocol-writer.  Yeah, that’s me.  (And sorry, I’m too lazy to link everything up.  But you can do your own research if you’re interested.  (See what I did there?!?))

But I guess the thing that I’m most thankful for is the fact that when I leave at the end of the day, I feel good.  I love what I do.  And I’m doing something good.  Helping cure childhood cancer?  Yeah, I can definitely get on board with that.  Forever.  Plus, who could complain with this view during the daily grind?
image

One comment

Leave a comment